pexels-pixabay-261403.jpg

APPRECIATIVE
INQUIRY
PROCESS

presence_appreciative_inquiry.png

PRESENCE

Paradigmes_Appreciative_Inquiry.png

PARADIGMS

principe_appreciative_inquiry.jpg

PRINCIPLES

PROCESS

pexels-emiliano-arano-3608311 (1)-min.jpg

PARTS & PIECES

The most famous Appreciative Inquiry process is the 5D process so called because its 5 phases start (in its English version) with a D. There are many other processes and once you have understood the principles well, you can create others.
In the 5D process, the principles are fully operational. It is important to understand the meaning of the process so that it is powerful and that it can be 

The 5D Process

Initially in 4 steps, the process was enriched by the initial step of Definition when the Clergy Leadership Institute of the US suggested this step to define and formalize the identification of an "affirmative subject"

Appreciative-Inquiry-Process.png
definition-phase-appreciative-inquiry.png

Define a stimulating transformation topic for everyone

Before launching any process, you should ask yourself what you want to transform. The principles of Completeness, Positive and Poetic invites us to examine carefully what needs to be transformed and to do it with the greatest number of people. It is important that the subject of the Transformation is stimulating for everyone. Often in more conventional approaches, the transformation topic is worded in an uninviting way and has been determined by a small group of people. The Appreciative Inquiry invites you to do the FLIP of what is the challenge to be overcome. We have baptized this subject, the 4S subject of transformation: it is a Subject, Strategic (important), Stimulating for all. The article opposite explains in detail how the initiation of an individual or collective action begins.

Important element: the subject is key, it is important to spend the necessary time on it with as many people as possible representing the system to develop it. It is worded appreciably already indicating what is desired in terms of transformation.

sujet-4s-appreciative-inquiry fr.png
discovery-phase-appreciative-inquiry.png

Search for resources in the past, present and future
in the stories of people in the organization

Once the subject of transformation has been decided, it is now necessary to collaboratively develop the platform for this transformation, that is to say the foundations of it. People will be invited to remember the best stories with regard to the theme of transformation. For example, the interview guide opposite is an example of a company that wanted to make its management team work to become a successful and engaging team.

Important element: the narrative becomes the basis of this phase. Everyone has at least one story regarding the topic of transformation. There are many ways to implement this phase within the organization (when the operation is collective). It is important that people can interview each other. This operation can also be done digitally and asynchronously.

guide-appreciative-inquiry.png
dream-phase-appreciative-inquiry.png

Imagine the best of what the future can bring starting from the discovery phase.

Based on the positive experiences of the past, people begin to dream of possibilities for the future. By grounding the process in the realities of the discovery phase, they perceive their dreams as more accessible, as opposed to many traditional visualization exercises not grounded in an already experienced reality.

During the dream phase, people project themselves into what could be happening to the “best of their ability”. This phase generates a lot of creativity and can manifest itself in multiple forms (drawings, songs, sculptures, magazines, etc.). This dream can be formalized by proposals calling into question the status quo of the organization. Proposals that represent a challenge and that make you want to go.


Important element: people may hesitate from time to time about this phase. They think that people are not going to allow themselves to dream. While the word "dream" may be misplaced in some cultures, it is important to encourage people to project themselves into the future. To deprive yourself of this phase would be to deprive yourself of a real opportunity to transform! 

Capture d’écran 2021-08-15 à 15.44.17.png
design-phase-appreciative-inquiry.png

Develop the implementation structure
in its main chapters

Based on the positive experiences of the past, people begin to dream of possibilities for the future. By grounding the process in the realities of the discovery phase, they perceive their dreams as more accessible, as opposed to many traditional visualization exercises not grounded in an already experienced reality.

During the dream phase, people project themselves into what could be happening to the “best of their ability”. This phase generates a lot of creativity and can manifest itself in multiple forms (drawings, songs, sculptures, magazines, etc.). This dream can be formalized by proposals calling into question the status quo of the organization. Proposals that represent a challenge and that make you want to go.


Important element: people may hesitate from time to time about this phase. They think that people are not going to allow themselves to dream. While the word "dream" may be misplaced in some cultures, it is important to encourage people to project themselves into the future. To deprive yourself of this phase would be to deprive yourself of a real opportunity to transform! 

Concretely build the implementation and make the movement sustainable

deploy-phase-appreciative-inquiry.png

The intention at the heart of this step is to:

  • Create the conditions for immediate (Deliver & Deplo) or longer term (Destiny) actions

  • Collect the results of the intervention already carried out

  • Make the dream come true

  • Generate pragmatic energy

  • From "what to do" to "what we want to do"

 

Important element:

There are a few common pitfalls at this stage such as:

  • Focus on what to do rather than what we want to do

  • Evaluate what has not been done rather than what has been done

  • Over-valuing the short term over the long term

PROCESSUS
APPRECIATIVE
INQUIRY

PRESENCE

PARADIGMES

PRINCIPES

PROCESSUS

PEPITES (outils)

Le processus Appreciative Inquiry le plus connu est le processus des 5D appelé ainsi du fait que ses 5 phases commencent (dans sa version anglaise) par un D. Il existe bien d'autres processus et une fois que vous avez bien intégré les principes, vous pouvez en créer d'autres.
Dans le processus des 5D, les principes sont totalement opérants. Il est important de bien comprendre le sens du processus pour que celui-ci soit puissant et que celui ci puisse être 

Le Processus des 5D

Initialement en 4 étapes, le processus s'est enrichi de l'étape initiale de Définition lorsque le Clergy Leadership Institute des US a suggéré cette étape pour définir et formaliser l'identification d'un "sujet affirmatif"

Processus-Appreciative_inquiry.png
Appreciative-inquiry-phase-definition.png

Définir un sujet de transformation stimulant pour tout le monde

Avant de lancer tout processus, il convient de se poser la question de ce que l'on veut transformer. Les principes de Complétude, Positif et Poétique nous invite à bien examiner ce qui doit être transformé et le faire avec le plus grand nombre de personnes. Il est important que le sujet de la Transformation soit stimulant pour tout le monde. Souvent dans les approches plus conventionnelles, le sujet de transformation est libellé de façon peu stimulante et a été déterminé par un petit groupe de personnes. L'Appreciative Inquiry invite à faire le FLIP de ce qui est le challenge à surmonter. Nous avons baptisé ce sujet, le sujet 4S de la transformation : c'est un Sujet, Statégique (important), Stimulant pour touS. L'article ci-contre explique en détail la façon dont le démarrage d'une action individuelle ou collective commence.

Element important : le sujet est clé, il est important d'y passer le temps nécessaire avec le maximum de personnes représentatives du système pour l'élaborer. Il est libellé de façon appréciative indiquant déjà ce qui est désiré en terme de transformation.

sujet-4s-appreciative-inquiry fr.png
Appreciative-inquiry-phase-decouverte.png

Rechercher les ressources dans les histoires passées, présentes et futures des personnes de l'organisation

Une fois le sujet de transformation décidée, il convient maintenant d'élaborer de façon collaborative la plateforme de cette transformation, c'est-à-dire les fondations de celle-ci. Les personnes vont être invitées à se remémorer les meilleures histoires au regard de la thématique de la transformation. Par exemple, le guide d'interview ci-contre est un exemple d'une entreprise qui souhaitait faire travailler son équipe de direction pour qu'elle devienne un équipe performante et engageante.

Element important : la narrative devient la base de cette phase. Tout le monde a au moins une histoire au regard du sujet de la transformation. Il y a de multiples façons de mettre en oeuvre cette phase au sein de l'organisation (quand l'opération est collective). Il est important que les personnes puissent s'interviewer les unes les autres. Cette opération peut aussi se faire en digital et de façon asynchrone.

guide-appreciative-inquiry.png
Appreciative-inquiry-phase-dream.png

Imaginer le meilleur de ce que l'avenir peut apporter en partant de ce que la phase découverte a rassemblé comme idée, énergie, premières aspirations.

Basés sur les expériences positives du passé, les personnes commencent à rêver de possibilités pour l’avenir. En fondant le processus dans les réalités de la phase de découverte, ils perçoivent leurs rêves comme plus accessibles, par opposition à de nombreux exercices de visualisation traditionnels non ancrés dans une réalité déjà vécue.

Au cours de la phase de rêve, les personnes se projettent dans ce qui pourrait se passer au « meilleur des possibles ». Cette phase génère beaucoup de créativité et peut se manifester de multiples formes (dessins, chants, sculptures, magazines etc…). Ce rêve peut être formalisé par des propositions remettant en cause le statut quo de l’organisation. Des propositions qui représentent un défi et qui donnent envie d’y aller.


Element important : les personnes peuvent hésiter de temps en temps sur cette phase. Elles pensent que les personnes ne vont pas s'autoriser à rêver. Si le mot "rêve" peut être décalé dans certaines cultures, il est important d'encourager les personnes à se projeter dans l'avenir. Se priver de cette phase, serait se priver d'une vraie occasion de transformer ! 

Capture d’écran 2021-08-15 à 15.44.17.png
Appreciative-inquiry-phase-design.png

Elaborer la structure de mise en oeuvre
dans ses grands chapitres

Basés sur les expériences positives du passé, les personnes commencent à rêver de possibilités pour l’avenir. En fondant le processus dans les réalités de la phase de découverte, ils perçoivent leurs rêves comme plus accessibles, par opposition à de nombreux exercices de visualisation traditionnels non ancrés dans une réalité déjà vécue.

Au cours de la phase de rêve, les personnes se projettent dans ce qui pourrait se passer au « meilleur des possibles ». Cette phase génère beaucoup de créativité et peut se manifester de multiples formes (dessins, chants, sculptures, magazines etc…). Ce rêve peut être formalisé par des propositions remettant en cause le statut quo de l’organisation. Des propositions qui représentent un défi et qui donnent envie d’y aller.


Element important : les personnes peuvent hésiter de temps en temps sur cette phase. Elles pensent que les personnes ne vont pas s'autoriser à rêver. Si le mot "rêve" peut être décalé dans certaines cultures, il est important d'encourager les personnes à se projeter dans l'avenir. Se priver de cette phase, serait se priver d'une vraie occasion de transformer ! 

Construire concrètement la mise en oeuvre et rendre pérenne le mouvement

Appreciative-inquiry-phase-deploiement.png

L’intention au cœur de cette étape est de :

  • Créer les conditions pour des actions immédiates (Deliver & Deplo) ou à plus long terme (Destiny)

  • Récolter les résultats de l’intervention déjà réalisée

  • Incarner le rêve dans la réalité

  • Générer une énergie pragmatique

  • Passé de « ce qu’il faut faire » à « ce que nous avons envie de faire »

 

Element important :

Il y a quelques pièges habituels à cette étape comme :

  • Se concentrer sur ce qu’il faut faire plutôt que ce soit que nous avons envie de faire

  • Évaluer ce qui n’a pas été fait plutôt que ce qui a été fait

  • Survaloriser le court terme par rapport au long terme